• 75°
franklin county times

Excellence in education

By Staff
May 16, 2003
Prekindergarten students at West End Elementary officially graduated Thursday night, their first step on their way to becoming kindergarten students next fall.
The students sang songs and enjoyed a spaghetti dinner with their families at West End's cafeteria.
Graduating from Pam Cassreino and Rolanda Peden's class were Breunte Brunson, Lyric Buxton, Timothy Collins, Nique Gordon, Cameron Gowdy, Tanisha Hill, JaVon Hundley, Tykeyah Key, Ah'kenya Lard, Kyle McNeil, Tekia Owens, Joshua Reed, Tyriq Spencer, Shamika Thomas, Marquisse Thompson and Tyberious Winford.
Graduating from Brenda Stewart and Leria Johnson's class were Larry Dock, Destiny Dunnigan, Kavin Gibbs, Terrence Gordon, Aleeyah Griffin, Qunsha Harris, Jaylon Hodge, Cierra Horn, Thoris Johnson, Lavernez Kennedy, Brian Lard, Ja'Tera Mosley, Tray Rush, Bruce Stennis, Brooklyn Young and James Young.
Adrian J. Taylor of Meridian has been selected to receive The Radio People Scholarship at Meridian Community College. The $750 award, funded through The MCC Foundation, is intended to encourage students who have an interest in the broadcast field.
A graduate of Meridian High School, Taylor is a sophomore in the broadcast communications program. He plans to continue his education at a four-year school, and pursue a career in the film industry.
Amy Rebecca Roebuck of Meridian has been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honors organization.
Roebuck, a senior studying English and political science at the University of Mississippi, is among 67 liberal arts scholars representing five states invited to membership in Phi Beta Kappa based upon grade point average and program of study.
She is the daughter of Mark and Becky Roebuck of Meridian.
East Mississippi Community College's yearbook, The Lion, placed second in the state at the annual Mississippi Junior Community College Press Association convention and awards banquet held April 12 in Jackson.
EMCC also took home six additional honors: first place for best copy; first place for best structure; first place for best theme; second place for layout and design; second place for cover; and second place for typography.
Two EMCC yearbook students served as officers for the 2003 session. Cassie Chance of Meridian was president and Monica Davis of Starkville was vice president.
EMCC yearbook adviser Kelly Atwood will serve as adviser of the association until 2005.
Maria Presley, a Lamar High School senior, recently won second place in the BellSouth and BellSouth Pioneers 5th Annual Poster and Essay Contest. The contest is sponsored by BellSouth, BellSouth Pioneers, the Institutions of Higher Learning, the State Department of Education and the Mississippi Private School Association.
The United States Achievement Academy announced recently that Randi Shamp of Meridian has been named a United States National Award Winner in the area of foreign language.
Shamp attends West Lauderdale High School and was nominated by Spanish teacher Belinda French.
Shamp is the daughter of Ed and Eva Shamp and the granddaughter of Freddie and Jean Champagne and Shirley Shamp, all of Mandeville, La.