• 64°

Excellence in education

By Staff
Aug. 29, 2001
Quacie Jordan of Quitman is the Jacob Toney Scholarship recipient at Meridian Community College.
The $1,000 scholarship is funded annually by the Toney Scholarship Endowment established through The MCC Foundation for Clarke County residents.
Jordan is a graduate of Quitman High School, a sophomore in the MCC nursing program and a Dean's List scholar.
Cameron Hunt of Eupora and Albert Smith of Collinsville, both 19, are returning to Meridian Community College for their sophomore year as L.O. Todd scholars.
The MCC Foundation funds the $600 scholarships annually in memory of the late L.O. Todd, former superintendent of Meridian Public Schools and head of MCC.
Hunt is pursuing a degree in professional golf management. He plays on the MCC golf team and is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, an honorary scholastic service fraternity for community and junior college students.
Smith is an engineering major, a member of the MCC tennis team and and a member of the Wesley Foundation. He also serves as an Ivy League recruiter.
Christina Harper of Bailey is participating in the Cooperative Education Program at Mississippi State University.
The Cooperative Education Program gives students an opportunity to receive a college education as well as practical experience in their chosen field of study.
Harper has worked at GE Plastics-Bay St. Louis. Harper, the daughter of Carla and William Harper, is working toward a degree in chemical engineering.
Members of the East Central Community College Collegians have been selected for 2001-2002.
Vocalists for the rock 'n' roll group are Josh Burton, Chris Carson and Damein Wash, all of Decatur; Claire Edgar of Union; Mary Speed of Forest; Megan Tramill of Newton; and Kristen Thornton of Edinburg.
Members of the wind section include trumpet players, April McAdory and Grant Morris, both of Philadelphia; saxophone player Matt Hedrick of Conehatta; and trombone player Joshua Black of Philadelphia.
Rhythm section members are guitar player Michael Eichelberger of Conehatta; bass player Kirk Misso of Starkville; keyboard player Jennifer Savell of Lake; and drummer Matt Baldridge of Philadelphia.
Technicians are George Edwards of Louisville; Andy Murphy and Jeff Polizzie, both of Meridian; Lucas Pope of Philadelphia; Josh Tillman of Forest; and Marcus Williams of Brandon.
Director of the Collegians is Thomas W. Carson, director of bands.