• 75°
franklin county times

MHS honor students rewarded

By Staff
Special to the Star/The Meridian Star
April 12, 2001
Meridian High School students were rewarded for their outstanding academic achievements Tuesday at the annual Honors and Awards Program.
The following students were recognized with leadership and scholarship awards: Claire Maranto, National Merit Finalist; Sally Stacey, National Merit Finalist and FLE Award; Anchor Club, Good Samaritan Award; Kimberly Strawbridge, Charlie Armstrong Award; Robert Walker, Charlie Armstrong; Fred Rush, Greater Meridian Jaycee Business Technology and Computer Science; Nathan Maust, Mathematics and Skewes Award; Sarah McClure, Biological Science; Elizabeth Trawick, Physical Science, Most Valuable "Wildcat" Staffer and Melinda Weathers Award; Benjamin Ware, Computer Science; Kristen Gambrell, Spanish; Jennifer Reece, Sara Eykelboom, French; Gabrielle Jones, Library; Marcelle Mosley, World History; Jennifer Hermetz, Senior Social Science, Wildcat Editor and IA Rosenbaum Scholarship Award; Leanna McLaughlin, American History Award; Lauren Smith, American History Award; Stacey Douglas, STAR Student and Maude Smith Excellence in English, Wildcat Editor and Pilot Club Award; Mandy Pickett, Student Council President; Katie Barnes, Reverie Editor and Jennie Ruth Crump Award; Vanessa Brown, Reverie Editor; Erin Brown, Skewes Athletes and Larry Scott Memorial Award; E.A. Herron, Fine Arts Award; Tiffany Melendez, Fine Arts Award; Tyshaela Clayton, Class of 68 Virginia Graham Memorial Scholarship; Tyler Richardson, Alex Loeb Award; Ellen Heimann, Skewes Award; and Randi Munoz, Meyer Davidson Leadership Award.
The following students were recognized with vocational awards: Rea Brown, Business Computer Technology; Erica Cross, Child Care; Dee Eason, Mississippi Cooperative Education; Chris Colston, Electronics; Keoshya Walker, Marketing; LaTanya Richardson, Allied Health; Duncan Chalk, Food Production; Joseph Norwood, Welding; Torry Bates, Drafting; Santarrio Fowler, Small Gas Engine Repair; Rob Garner, Auto Mechanics, Jimmy Doss, Auto Body Repair; Gabrielle Jones, Wille James White Memorial; James Ryalss IV; and Anthony Cox, Carpentry.
Academic Team Medalists: Trey Melancon, Nathan Maust, Chris Massey, Lyle Shehan, Leanna McLaughlin, Laura King, Bailey Stephenson, Elizabeth Halbrook, Shama Lightwalla and Kyschme Watson.
Meridian High Service Awards: Rachael Blackshear, Michael Busbee, Shannon Denson, Priscilla Dubose, Corey Fontan, Candace Grace, Ida Holliday, Joseph Norwood, Mandy Pickett, April Steverson and Jamie Whitley.
Principal's Honor Medals: Erin Brown, Stacey Douglas, Ellen Heimann, Jennifer Hermetz, Claire Maranto, Sarah McClure, Randi Munoz, Diana Semmes, Lindi Smith and Sally Stacey.
Exchange Students Certificate: Hiroko Fujimoto, Lena Hellms, Javier Perez, Michael Ras, Shihona Taku and Shifan Thangavel.
More than 120 Academic Letters, 3.75 or higher GPA for one, two or three years, were awarded at the program.
Teachers, Shirley Burton and Lanelle Glover, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. Laura Hyche was named STAR Teacher.