• 52°

DAR names citizenship award winners

The Chief Colbert Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution has announced the 2019-2020 Good Citizens from schools in Franklin County, as well as Good Citizen and Junior American Citizens from Colbert County.

Good Citizen winners include these from Franklin County:

  • Ansley Tate, Belgreen High School
  • Ben Williams, Phil Campbell High School
  • Dylan Hester, Red Bay High School
  • River Grace Pounders, Russellville High School
  • Ty Martin, Tharptown High School

Students are selected as DAR Good Citizens based on dependability, service, leadership and patriotism.  The DAR recommends faculty choose three seniors who have demonstrated, in an outstanding way, these qualities of a good citizen, and from these three students, the senior class selects one student.

All schools are eligible to participate in these programs.