• 63°

NW-SCC Phi Theta Kappa receives four international awards

Northwest-Shoals Community College’s Alpha Zeta Iota chapter recently received four awards at the 2020 Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society virtual international awards program.

The Alpha Zeta Iota chapter was recognized with the following awards:

• Paragon Award for New Presidents for Dr. Glenda Colagross

• Distinguished College Project Award

• Beta Alpha Continued Excellence

• Top 100 Chapters Phil Campbell Campus

NW-SCC President Dr. Glenda Colagross was one of 28 college presidents to receive the PTK Paragon Award for New Presidents during the virtual international awards program. More than 500 college presidents were eligible to receive this award.

These awards were given to new college presidents who have shown strong support of student success by recognizing academic achievement, leadership and service among high-achieving students at their college.

Recipients were nominated for the award by the students on their campus.

NW-SCC Alpha Zeta Iota chapter officers are Tori Brooks of Tuscumbia, Brianna Weeks of Russellville, Anna Peterson of Florence, Elizabeth Jenkins of Russellville, Caroline Torres-Neves of Muscle Shoals and David Lugo-Barrera of Russellville. Chapter advisors are Pam Peters, Jacque Jeffreys, Desiree South and Rachel Trapp.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges.