• 41°
PHOTO BY BART MOSS Phil Campbell’s Lynn Landers presents the Phil Campbell Alumni Association scholarships to Jami Brianna Palmer and Francisco Jimenez, both of the PCHS Class of 2019.

PC alumni increase scholarship awards

The Phil Campbell Alumni Association held its annual meeting Sunday at the school cafeteria. The main order of business was to announce an increase in the association’s scholarship fund. 

The scholarship, awarded to two seniors each year, was increased from $500 per student to $1,000 per student. 

The association retroactively awarded the $1,000 scholarships to Jami Brianna Palmer and Francisco Jimenez from the Class of 2019.

“We are pleased our association can help some graduates each year and hope they will pay it forward by becoming productive citizens and accomplished alumni,” said association president and city councilwoman Lynn Landers.

The group also heard from new high school principal Darit Riddle. Riddle has served as the assistant principal at Phil Campbell High School for the past ten years and was elevated to the principal position following the retirement of Gary Odom.

“Phil Campbell is a great place to be,” said Riddle. “The community really supports the school and all of our extracurricular activities.”

Riddle said the school is almost at full capacity, with 460 students in grades seven through 12. He also announced some of the school’s new hires, the addition of an aviation class and the formation of the Bobcat Pride Club.

In other business:

  • ● Treasurer Juanita Wells announced the association has an $880.51 balance. The group also raised $1,289 for the scholarship fund from a barbecue fundraiser, which allowed them to increase the scholarship allocation.
  • ● Landers is still soliciting old annuals. She now has all annuals from 1960 to the present day.
  • ● The association will purchase a $100 ad in the football program.
  • ● The classes with the most in attendance were the Classes of 1969 and 1957.
  • ● Duane Strickland traveled the farthest, attending from Texas.
  • ● Barbara Ayers and Billy Wilson were the oldest alumni present.
  • ● Next year the annual lunch will be served at 12:30 p.m., and the doors will open at noon.