• 45°

Student Q&A

By Staff
Kim West
Name: Melani Hernandez
School: Tharptown Elementary
Grade/age: 5th grade, 11 years old
Teacher: Mrs. Angie Garrison ("Mrs. G")
Family: Parents Marlen and Nery Hernandez; brother, Orlando, 8; sister, Mangolia, 3; 8-month-old brother, Angel
What do you want to be when you grow up?
A veterinarian because I like animals. My favorite kind of animals are dogs.
Do you have any dogs?
Yes, two dogs – Teddy Bear and Nike.
Where do you want to go to college?
What are your hobbies?
I like playing with my cousins and going to their house. They live 20 minutes from here towards Haleyville. And I like to play basketball.
What is your favorite TV show?
It's on Nickelodeon – "iCarly."
What is your favorite subject in school?
Do you enjoy reading?
I like chapter books about princesses. My favorite fairy tale is Cinderella.
What is your least favorite subject?
Math – it's hard sometimes. We're studying decimals and division now.
If you were principal for a day, what would you do?
We would have a free day at the playground. Last year we did an all-day field day, and you could throw balloons with water and you could race.
Who is your favorite teacher, past or present?
Right now (in fifth grade), it's Mrs. G. In kindergarten, it was Mrs. (Dana) Garrison because she was nice.
Which person do you admire the most?
My mom. She's a good mom and teaches us good things.
What's your favorite thing to do on a Saturday morning?
I like to play with my neighbor.
Name one place you would like to visit.
Anywhere in Florida.
If you could meet any person dead or alive, who would it be and why?
A girl named Christina Cortez from a book named "Best Friends." Her friend wants to be a cheerleader, but she has to do a dare to if she wants to become a cheerleader.
What kind of music do you enjoy? Do you have a favorite singer or group?
I like pop and The Jonas Brothers.
What is your favorite homemade food and restaurant?
My mom makes homemade cheese pie. It has milk, eggs and cheese in it, and I help cook it. I like going to Ryan's (in Florence).
How long have you attended Tharptown?
I started at Tharptown for kindergarten and first grade. I went to second grade at West Elementary, but then I moved back. It's different because I didn't do English there, and I have more friends here.
What are you looking forward to the most about attending high school in less than two years?
I will get to learn more things, and I'm a little nervous about it.