• 46°

BHS tops Red Bay

By Staff
After two losses to Red Bay earlier this season, the Belgreen varsity girls basketball team finally knocked off the Lady Tigers with a 62-60 victory in overtime Tuesday.
The Lady Bulldogs trailed by one point after the first quarter, but outscored Red Bay 16-13 in the second to take a two-point lead into halftime.
Red Bay rallied, outscoring Belgreen 14-10 in the fourth to tie the game 56-56 and force overtime.
Belgreen had three players reach double-digit scoring, led by Deborah Billingham with 15 points, Amber Smith with 14 points and Martha Billingham with 13 points.
Also scoring for the Lady Bulldogs were Loren McVicker (9), Anna DeVaney (5), Katelin Barber (4) and Katy Britton (2).
Red Bay had four players hit the double-digit scoring mark led by Whitney Sharp who scored a game-high 19 points. Morgan Duncan added 15 points while Kirsten Sharp scored 11 and Caitlin Childers scored 10. Britton Bolding added five points for the Lady Tigers.
Hatton 58,
Tharptown 56
After a slow start on offense, the Tharptown varsity girls basketball team put together a strong second-half, but it wasn't enough as Hatton escaped with a 58-56 victory.
The Lady Wildcats rallied from a 12-point deficit at halftime to keep the game close.
Hollie Hines led the Lady Wildcats with 25 points and 15 rebounds while Kendra Baker scored 13, Laken Barnet scored 11 and Heather Hatton scored 10.
Also scoring for the Lady Wildcats were Chloe Lane (2) and Elly Valdez (2).
Hatton 77,
Tharptown 51
The Tharptown offense got off to a strong start Tuesday, scoring 20 points in the opening quarter against Hatton, but could not maintain that pace the rest of the game, falling to the Hornets 77-51.
Hatton outscored Tharptown 24-11 in the second quarter to take a 43-31 lead into halftime. The Wildcats prevented the Hornets from extending their lead in the third quarter, but Hatton outscored Tharptown 20-9 in the fourth.
Jacob Parker scored 13 points to lead Tharptown while Tyler Cagle added 11 points.
Also scoring for the Wildcats were Matt Austin (6), Wade Berryman (6), Brandon Cothrum (5), Drew Ergle (3), Trevor Hallmark (3), Manny Ricardo (2) and Wesley Borden (2).