• 63°

Several Golden Tigers honored at banquet

By Staff
Scot Beard
The Russellville football team put the finishing touches on its 2008 season last week as 27 players received awards and seven of those players earned multiple honors at the football awards banquet.
Stratt Byars, Mario Roman and Nathan McAlister received plaques for their service as team captains this season.
Byars also won the Best Offensive Lineman Award while Roman was named the Practice Player of the Year.
McAlister was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player and the Best Receiver.
Jesse Green was named Defensive MVP and Best Linebacker.
Brent Calloway earned Best Offensive Back honors while Ryan Romans was named Best Defensive Back.
Aaron Hollingsworth was selected as the Best Defensive Lineman and Jose Betancourt was named the Best Special Teams Player.
Twenty-six players earned Iron Bunch plaques, which are awarded to players that did not miss any practice sessions.
Iron Bunch members include Wesley Bohannon, Byars, Calloway, Anthony Cochran, Justin Esquivel, Jordan Fisher, John Alex Foster, Justin Fretwell, Chase Gilmer, Darrian Graham, Green, Grant Hagedorn, Taylor Hamilton, Hollingsworth, Joey Howe, McAlister, Robin Nelson, Manuel Ramirez, Quan Ricks, Roman, Romans, Caleb Sherrill, Tanner Steele, Kevin Vincent, Jake Ward and Jake Ward.