• 63°

Departments announce employee awards

By Staff
Melissa Cason
The Russellville Fire and Police Departments recognized their officers Tuesday night during their annual Christmas banquet.
Russellville Fire Chief Joe Mansell said the department recognized their volunteer of the year and firefighter of the year during the event.
Volunteer William Crenshaw was presented with the volunteer of the year award for the department. He has been involved with the department for five years.
While the firefighter of year award is traditionally given to one firefighter and voted on by the firefighters, the department took a different route this year.
"This year, we decided to do something a little different," Mansell said. "The department decided to recognize the firefighters on C-shift because of the obstacles they have been through during the year."
Members of that shift include Capt. Aubrey Harris, Lt. Justin Green, Jodi Hitt, Mickey Gentry and Brian Sutton.
The third shift was on duty when two major incidents happened in Russellville, and they worked diligently during difficult circumstances, Mansell said.
Police Chief Chris Hargett announced the Officer of the Year during the banquet. Dispatcher Terry Saint was awarded this year's title. Saint has been employed at the department for five years.
"Our officers vote on who should be the officer of the year, and it carries a lot of weight when the final decision is made," Hargett said.
Both Mansell and Hargett said the event went smoothly and each department was represented well with good attendance.