• 84°
franklin county times

Class to reunite for 50th reunion

By Staff
Kim West
Despite graduating 50 years ago, the students from the Russellville High School Class of 1958 have managed to keep in touch.
"We had 90 people who graduated, and we have been able to locate the entire class," said Helen Bendall Berry, a member of the class reunion committee. "We're expecting a really good turnout at the reunion."
The class will reunite for homecoming festivities Oct. 3 and a luncheon Oct. 4 at the A.W. Todd Centre in downtown Russellville that will include a memorial for the 24 classmates who have passed away.
"We have a whole list of activities," Berry said. "We're going ride in the homecoming parade, have a hot dog supper at Russellville Elementary School and then attend the football game Friday. we're gathering at the Todd Centre for music, memorials and memories beginning at 12:45 p.m. Saturday."
Many members of the Class of 1958 have made their mark in the business world, including Mary McGee Borden, who owns Mary's Bridal Shop in Moulton, Wagon Wheel owner Annette Thornton Sturdivant, and Lonnie Hopson, who owns a trucking firm and is a distributor for Little Debbie Snack Cakes.
"We have had several who really made contributions in their career fields, and we have classmates who have been very active in building their own businesses," Berry said.
Other distinguished graduates include teachers Brenda Aycock Long, Judy Hargett Malone and Judy Malone Rock; nurse Faye Russell Cooke; real estate agent Willodean Hovater; pastor Robin "Bob" Kash; horse whisperer Gene Whitlock; former president of the International Organization of Museums Scott Osborne; and engineers Howard James, Bobby Kimbrough, William Lawler, Rayburn Smith and James Smithson.
Two class members have also been inducted into hall of fames – rental proprietor Lee Murray was inducted into the Greater Louisville Coaching Hall of Fame as a football coach and the Franklin County Sports Hall of Fame and former Russellville track star Charles Jones is also a member of the Franklin County Sports HOF after helping the Golden Tigers win the school's first-ever state championship.
Class officers were president William Lawler, vice president Lee Murray, secretary Dianne Scruggs Lawrence and treasurer Ruth Shelton Adkins, who was also a drum majorette.
The 18-member reunion committee began planning the Class of 1958's fourth reunion more than six months ago. Jemma Miller Gillespie created a tri-fold collage for the reunion weekend, while Berry put together a class scrapbook. Each class member was also sent a questionnaire, and Elizabeth Kindig was chosen as the favorite teacher.
"We started planning this reunion in March," Adkins said. "This has been a great committee."
For more information, contact Berry at 332-8078 or Bobby Bowen at 810-3206.