• 77°
franklin county times

McFadden deserves Heisman

By Staff
Kim West
Franklin County Times
The media has tabbed Florida quarterback Tim Tebow as the frontrunner for the Heisman Trophy, which has been awarded to the most outstanding collegiate football player by New York City's Downtown Athletic Club since 1935.
The first player to win the award was University of Chicago running back Jim Berwanger. Since then 38 running backs and 26 quarterbacks have won the award, which is voted on by the media (870), former Heisman winners (54) and the fans (1). Only one defensive player, Michigan's Charles Woodson, has ever been awarded the Heisman.
The four finalists are Tebow and fellow QBs Colt Brennan of undefeated Hawaii and Chase Daniel of Missouri, along with Arkansas running back Darren McFadden.
It's too bad former Arkansas coach Houston Nutt didn't let McFadden play quarterback full-time since the Razorbacks have another all-star running back in Felix Jones. When McFadden did line up as QB in Arkansas' "Wild Hog" formation, he was unstoppable. He is the No. 1 reason why the Razorbacks pulled off an upset of No. 2 LSU this season, and he should be the No. 1 pick in the NFL draft if he decides to skip his senior season.
I know Tebow has shiny numbers (51 TDs, including 29 passing with only six INTs), but so does McFadden (1,725 rushing yards, 21 catches and 20 total TDs, including four passing) I think it's a toss-up between the two, but I think McFadden deserves the trophy – let Tebow, who lost to LSU this year, have it next year. If had a vote, I would choose McFadden because he should have won last year.
Kim West is sports editor for The Franklin County Times. She can be reached at kim.west@fct.wpengine.com or (256) 332-1881, ext. 30.