• 68°
franklin county times

Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha wins women's stickball crown

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
July 8, 2003
CHOCTAW It was Ladies Night Monday in the World Series of Stickball as part of the 54th-annual Choctaw Indian Fair.
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha (women from Pearl River) won their third straight women's World Series championship with a 5-2 victory over the Lady Warriors. Women began competing in the stickball World Series in 1996.
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha scored three goals in the first quarter and never relinquished their lead.
Tallying for the winners in the opening period were Angela Farmer at the 7:30 mark, Robin Isaac with 5:20 showing, and Rachel McMillian with four minutes remaining.
The Lady Warriors got a goal from Joni Ben at the 7:11 mark of the first quarter as they trailed 3-1 after 10 minutes of action. Dorena Henry cut the Lady Warriors' deficit to 3-2 at halftime when she scored with 7:32 left in the second quarter.
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha got the only goals of the second half to secure their latest title. Crystal Roach scored with 40 seconds left in the third quarter and Brittany Morris connected with 1:16 left in the game.
In tonight's men's action, Nanih Waiya faces Pearl River at 6 p.m., and Unified takes on Beaver Dam at 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday's lone matchup is a dandy as 19-time champion Conehatta squares off with the six-time champion Warriors at 10 p.m. Conehatta defeated the Warriors 3-2 in the 2002 finals. All six of the Warriors' championships have been in the last 11 years.
In earlier games in this year's World Series:
Men 35-over Division
South All-Stars 6
North All-Stars 2
Eric Dixon and Myron Thomas scored for the South men's all-stars in the first quarter as they advanced to the championship round against 16 Pow-Wow
Thomas and Benson Lewis both scored in the second period as the South took a 4-1 lead into halftime. The North got its goal from Donovan McMillian with 5:02 left in the first half.
Lewis connected in the third quarter for a 5-1 South lead. Dixon scored for the South and Dave Williams for the North in the fourth quarter.
Women's Division
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha 5
Konihatta Ohoyo 1
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha padded a 3-1 lead with two goals in the fourth quarter in the semifinal matchup.
Leslie Fuller scored the winners' first goal with 49 seconds remaining in the first quarter. Melinda Ben made it 2-0 when she connected with 8:14 showing in the second period.
Tracey Ben scored the Conehatta team's only goal of the game in the third quarter. Angela Farmer matched the third period tally for the Pearl River team.
Melinda Ben and Peggy Jefferson both scored for Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha in the fourth quarter.
Lady Warriors 8
Bok Cito Ohoyo 2
Joni Ben scored three goals and Lahoma Conrad tallied twice to lead the Lady Warriors to their semifinal win over the Bogue Chitto team.
The Lady Warriors led 2-1 at halftime behind a goal apiece from Ben and Renee Wesley. Bok Cito's score was by Elyse Willis with three seconds left in the first half.
Ben and Conrad both tallied once in the third quarter for a 4-1 lead.
Conrad, Ben, Dorena Henry, and Johnita Conrad each scored for the winners in the fourth quarter.
Nandolyn Nickey scored Bok Cito's second goal.
Men's Division
Pearl River 8
Tiak Hikiya 2
Delanie Hickman scored four times to lead Pearl River past Tiak Hikiya in the first-round contest.
Hickman and Jason Bell both scored once in the first quarter to stake Pearl River to a 2-0 lead. The winners carried a 3-1 advantage into halftime after getting a score from Eric Isaac. Grandale Tubby tallied for Tiak Hikiya.
Hickman put the game away with three goals in the third quarter.
In the final period, Damian Jimmie and Michael Bell scored for Pearl River, while Larindo Ben, Shelton Chapman, and Jeremiah Tubby scored for Tiak Hikiya.
Beaver Dam 4
Tucker 3
Beaver Dam led 3-0 and held off a late-charging Tucker team for the opening-round win.
Sammie Clemmons scored with 2:07 left in the first quarter, Johnny Lewis scored with 12:45 to go in the second quarter, and Lewis connected again with 13 minutes showing in the third period for a 3-0 Beaver Dam lead.
Neal Vaughn got Tucker on the scoreboard with 13:16 left in the game.
Samuel Bell made it 3-2 with 9:50 remaining. Demetrius Sam got what turned out to be the winning goal for Beaver Dam at the 5:45 mark.
Tucker's Steve Thompson got the final tally with 2:14 to play.
Bok Cito 3
Oka Homma 1
Ricky Willis, Angelo Bell, and Tilson Williams each scored a goal for Bok Cito in the quarterfinal win.
Willis scored with 9:59 left in the second quarter, Bell connected with 5:30 to go in the third quarter, and Williams hit the post in the fourth quarter.
Oka Homma's lone score was by Eli Sockey with 12:13 remaining in the third quarter.