• 82°
franklin county times

Excellence in education

By Staff
May 27, 2003
More than 405 students were awarded degrees during Delta State University's 2003 spring commencement exercises May 10 in Walter Sillers Coliseum on the Cleveland, Miss., campus.
Degrees awarded included 352 baccalaureate, 49 masters and 1 doctor of education in professional studies and 3 educational specialists.
Those from the Lauderdale County area were Darren Wyatt Simmons and Jared Nathan Yates, who both received bachelor's degree in commercial aviation, flight operations.
University of Arkansas chemistry doctoral candidate Emily Clark received the F.M. Beckett Summer Fellowship of the Electrochemical Society for this summer.
The Electrochemical Society annually awards four summer fellowships nationally to graduates pursuing work toward a doctorate or master's degree. For more than 70 years, society fellowships have given students the opportunity to continue their research during the summer months.
Clark's research focuses on alternative methods in microfluidics under the direction of chemistry and biochemistry professor Ingrid Fritsch.
In April, Clark placed first in the graduate student poster competition, physical sciences category, at the 87th annual meeting of the Arkansas Academy of Science for her research "Magnetohydrodynamic studies toward the development of microfluidic devices."
She also received a travel award to attend the SmallTalk 2003 conference in July in San Jose, Calif. Now in its fifth edition, SmallTalk is the only single microtechnologies conference covering drug discovery, clinical and environmental analysis, microfabrication, materials science, informatics, genomics and nanotechnology.
Clark earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Davidson College in Davidson, N.C., and is a native of Meridian.
The Electrochemical Society is an international nonprofit educational organization concerned with a broad range of phenomena relating to electrochemical and solid-state science and technology.
The society, founded in 1902, has more than 7,000 scientist and engineer individual members from 75 countries worldwide, as well as approximately 100 corporate and laboratory contributing members.