• 88°
franklin county times

Carle, Dement dethrone champs

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
May 27, 2003
On a day where par was an unreachable goal as far as the championship flight was concerned, Jimmy Carle and John Dement combined to knock off four-time defending champions Judge Little and Scott Morgan in the 2003 Ed Lewis Memorial Day Tournament at Northwood Country Club.
Carle and Dement turned in a 3-over par 74 in Sunday's alternate shot format to win the 54-hole tournament by two strokes over Little and Morgan.
Only the championship flight played with a true alternate shot format as each of the remaining flights was allowed two shots off each tee before alternating shots.
Little and Morgan, the tournament champions since 1999, carried a one-stroke lead into Sunday's final round, but Carle and Dement finished at 203, 10-under par for the tournament, while the defending champions finished at 205.
The last time Little and Morgan didn't come away as champions prior to Sunday was in 1998 when Little teamed with Carle to capture the title.
Little and Carle were teammates on Meridian High School's golf team, so both were well aware of what the other could do.
Justin Catlett and Tony Polizzi turned in a 75 Sunday to finish in third place, four strokes off the lead at 207.
A pair of former state amateur champions, Chuck Rea (1969) and John Lang (1976 and 1980), finished in fourth place. Their 77 for the final 18 holes left them at 208.
Four teams finished in a tie for fifth place. Austin Holmes and Winston Powell shot a 75 Sunday to move up from a three-way tie for 10th to the logjam in fifth place. They had a three-day 209.
Larry Love and David Ray had a 76 Sunday to finish at 209. Also at 209 after a final round 77 was the team of Alan Hart and Johnny Love.
Completing the tie for fifth was Jimbo Green and John Rea after they had a 78 over the final 18 holes.
Completing the championship flight were Bubba Hannah and Andy Lucovich at 210, Bilbo Mitchell and Billy McWilliams and Paul Entrekin and Mac Barnes at 213, and Marc Fisher and Derrick Smith at 216.