• 63°
franklin county times

Hundreds attend MLT Gala
to celebrate anniversary

By By Penny Randall / staff writer
May 24, 2003
Meridian Little Theatre was filled Thursday with more than 300 supporters who were there to celebrate the theater's 70th anniversary.
Entertainment, awards and a reception were all part of the celebration.
Awards called "Austins" named for the founder of the Meridian Little Theatre, Marjorie Woods Austin were presented to actors and actresses who have appeared on the playhouse stage over the past 20 years.
And, the winners were:
Best actress in a comedy or drama: Jennie Crumbaugh as Daisy Werthan in "Driving Miss Daisy."
Best actor in a comedy or drama: A tie between John Johnson as Hoke Coleburn in "Driving Miss Daisy" and David Miller as Ten Characters in "A Tuna Christmas."
Best actress in a musical: Angela White as Patsy Cline in "Always … Patsy Cline."
Best actor in a musical: John Robert Smith as Scrooge in "A Christmas Carol."
Best supporting actress in a comedy or drama: Donna Knight as M'Lynn in "Steel Magnolias."
Best supporting actor in a comedy or drama: Van McCarty as Mr. Van Daan in "The Diary of Anne Frank."
Best supporting actress in a musical: Twyla Hurst as Anna in "Annie."
Best supporting actor in a musical: Monte Royal as Rooster Hannigan in "Annie."
Best production: "The King and I"
Lifetime artistic achiever: Mary Alpha Donnelly.
Lifetime theatre achiever and friend: Laura Kimbrell Bass.
Honor Roll members, recognizing people who have helped the theater reach its goals: Maggie Barber, Jennie Crumbaugh, Billy Melton and Albert Weems.