• 75°
franklin county times

ECCC recognizes students in special
awards day

By Staff
May 18, 2003
DECATUR East Central Community College observed its annual "Awards Day" program here May 1 and numerous students were honored, including six who were inducted into the College's Hall of Fame. It is the highest honor a student can achieve at ECCC.
Those selected for the prestigious honor for 2002-2003 include Sarah Allard of Union, David Burt of Newton, Jaclyn Evans of Bay Springs, Jimmy Hall of Lena, April McAdory of Philadelphia and Vickie Powe of Philadelphia.
In addition to the Hall of Fame honorees, various academic honors were presented, as well as a number of awards for extracurricular activities.
Those receiving vocational awards were Kenny Gomillion of Morton, cabinetmaking; Robert Hardy of Lawrence, carpentry; Vanessa Barton of Walnut Grove and Pamela Lane of Union, cosmetology; Allen Jackson of Philadelphia, welding and cutting; Dawn Cooksey of Conehatta and Debbie McInnish of Carthage, licensed practical nursing; and Patricia Phillips of Union was named Vocational Student of the Year.
Recipients of technical awards were Christopher Gordon of Union, collision repair; Curtis Brown of Stonewall, automotive technology; Latahua Sledge of Philadelphia, child development; Ethel DuBose of Shubuta, computer technology; Matthew Smith of Morton, electrical technology; Ryan McCann of Philadelphia, electronics; Bridget Worthy of Louisville, gerontology; Thomas Hitt of Little Rock, heating and air conditioning; Eddie Alexander of Little Rock, first-year machine shop; Vontreal Hunt of Louisville, second-year machine shop; Eli Fulton of Little Rock, computer network support; Tara Moore of Little Rock, surgical technology; and Eric Gunn of Forest, "Technical Student of the Year." Special awards were presented to Nathan Stamper of Decatur, citizenship award; Betty Janette Robinson of Carthage, ECCC Players; Natalie Duncan of Lake and Adam McAdory of Louisville, ECCC Singers; Sharon Gaddis of Carthage and Terance Anderson of Preston, ECCC Gospel Choir; Elizabeth Harrell of Carthage, EC Environmental Club; Timothy Fieber of Philadelphia, Richard Fisher Organic Chemistry; Coco Graham of Philadelphia, Philadelphia-Neshoba County Arts Council Scholarship; Glenda Brown of Union, Ruth Carr-Vincent Award for Academic Excellence in Nontraditional Education; Steven McGee of Lawrence, Kappa Kappa Iota Scholarship; Joseph Charlton of Little Rock, Timothy Fieber of Philadelphia, Luke McNair of Hickory and Eric Townsend of Forest, freshman mathematics awards; Stephan Sykes of Lawrence and Adam Joseph Wall of Forest, sophomore mathematics awards; Glenda Brown of Union, secondary education award; Adam Franklin Mann of Philadelphia, S. Lebrun Hutchison Engineering; Amy Warner of Louisville, Myrtle R. Hutchison Elementary Education; Ashley Fleming of Philadelphia, Margaret Mosal Award for Leadership; Jenna Talbert of Newton, Ann Burkes Phi Theta Kappa; Ashley Ogletree of Sebastopol, Mississippi Business Education Association student award; Jennifer Carson of Decatur, Alyne Simmons Recruitment Grant; Luke McNair of Hickory, Spanish; Beth Wedgeworth of Forest, Outstanding Associate Degree Outstanding Achievement; and David Burt of Newton, Walter Arno Vincent Award for Academic Excellence in Athletics.
Alumni Memorial Award recipients included: Tyler Rodgers of Louisville, Billy Wayne Baucum Secondary Education; Mary Margaret Irons of Philadelphia, Opal McMullan Dickerson Elementary Education; Grayson England of Philadelphia, Alatha Chaney English Award; Stephan Sykes of Lawrence, W.A. Coursey, Jr. Engineering; Lisa Chamblee of Carthage, Sue Yarbrough Fulgham Speech; Andrew Massey of Louisville, William S. Giffin Men's Intramural; Charlene Foreman of Little Rock and Tim Morgan of Lake, Homer F. Hunter Award for Athletic Managers; Adam Joseph Wall of Forest, Danny Ray Killens Engineering; Jimmy Hall of Lena and Lance Hall of Forest, Jack B. Mayo Phi Theta Kappa awards; Timothy Fieber of Philadelphia, Dr. Edwin Miller Medical Services; Kevin Bobbitt of Lake, Howard Sessums Men's Basketball; and Pete McBride of Forest, Andrew F. Webb Football.
Faculty Memorial Awards were presented to Elizabeth Johnson of Philadelphia, J. Wallace Bedwell Business; Joseph Charlton of Little Rock, Frank M. Cross Freshman Chemistry; Emily Mayes of Decatur, Robert G. Fick Memorial; Ashley Fleming of Philadelphia, Frank Edwin and Nena Holt Leatherwood Biology Science; Luke McNair of Hickory, J. Andy Miller Freshman Engineering; Michelle Alawine of Union, O.L. Newell Drafting; Pinkey Gordon of Carthage, Charles E. Pennington Business Technology; Amy Warner of Louisville, General William Patrick Wilson General Academic Award; Adam McAdory of Louisville, Leon Eubanks Kaljyc-Peers; Courtney Puckett of Louisville, Ruth Hull Wo-He-Lo; Shelley Brake of Florence, L.B. Simmons History; and Blair Anderson of Decatur, Thomas W. Thrash Scholarship.
Various students also received transfer scholarships to colleges and universities. Jimmy Hall of Lena is the 2003 recipient of a community college transfer scholarship to the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson. April McAdory of Philadelphia received one of only 10 Leadership Scholarships presented statewide by the University of Mississippi this year. Josh Jenkins of Carthage, a sophomore member of the ECCC Scholars Bowl team, also received a scholarship to the University of Mississippi in recognition of his outstanding performance during the Ken Wooten Scholars Bowl competition held at Ole Miss. The University of Mississippi also presented transfer scholarships to Megan Logan of Newton and Christen Herrington of Carthage.
Students receiving scholarships to the University of Southern Mississippi include: Terance Anderson of Preston, football manager scholarship; Eric Gunn of Forest, Phi Theta Kappa Achievement Award; and Maranda Burks of Philadelphia, Ashley Jones of Newton, Kimberly Stone of Carthage and Sarah Allard of Union who received leadership scholarships. Allard also received a scholarship to attend the University of Southern Mississippi, named in honor of Dr. Phil A. Sutphin, ECCC president.
Mississippi State University transfer scholarship recipients include: Jonathan Bates and Gregory Butler, both of Morton; Emma Chisolm, Leslie Vance and Terrisa Myrick, all of Union; Andrew Cooley of Chunky; James Cowart of Star; Chris Davis of Louisville; Cathy Deason, Mary Margaret Irons, Elizabeth Johnson, Kevin Langley and Carrie Shrock, all of Philadelphia; Jaclyn Evans of Bay Springs; Jennifer Gibson, Lance Hall, Colin Smith and Adam Wall, all of Forest; Ricky Graves of Lena; Doralyn Grimes, Jenifer Lee and John Petty, all of Carthage; Jessica Nester of Lake; Stephan Sykes of Lawrence; and Kerry Gilmer of Little Rock.
Additional transfer scholarship recipients include: David Burt of Newton and Nathan Stamper of Decatur, Hannibal-LaGrange College in Hannibal, Missouri; Christy Fedrick and Vickie Powe, both of Philadelphia; April Jones of Forest and Amy Rawson of Carthage, Mississippi College; Stacie Phillipson, Belhaven College in Jackson; Amanda Thompson of Louisville, Mississippi University for Women in Columbus; and Brody Perkins of Carthage, University of West Alabama.