• 46°

Semifinals set in stickball World Series

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
July 11, 2002
CHOCTAW Tucker used a 14-1 blowout of Tiak Hikiya Wednesday night to claim the final berth in the men's 2002 World Series of Stickball at the 53rd-annual Choctaw Indian Fair. Already in the semis were Conehatta, Beaver Dam, and the Warriors.
Beaver Dam and the Warriors clash tonight at 10 p.m. at the Choctaw Central High School football field with Conehatta and Tucker meeting in Friday's semifinal at 10 p.m. The championship game is slated for 10 p.m. Saturday.
Tucker 14
Tiak Hikiya 1
Tucker scored the final 13 goals to take Wednesday's quarterfinal game over the Standing Pine team and advance to the semifinal contest with Conehatta.
Darren Charlie scored three goals in the first half as Tucker led 4-1 at intermission. Tucker also got a first half score from Harlon Bell, while Larindo Ben tallied in the first quarter for Tiak Hikiya's only score of the night.
Cory Bell and Samuel Bell each scored in the third period for Tucker.
Tucker piled it on with seven tallies in the fourth quarter. Teddy McMillan tallied twice for the winners while Bell, Steven Thompson, Barry McMillan, Vincent Jefferson, and "Dollar" Bill Farmer each had one goal.
Tucker's lone championship was in 1988.
Conehatta 6
Unified 1
Conehatta, which has 18 championships since 1959, outscored Unified 4-0 in the second half to take the quarterfinal victory Tuesday night.
Conehatta led 2-0 after one quarter on a pair of scores from Yonald Willis.
Chris Lewis pulled Unified to within 2-1 on a goal in the second period.
Conehatta broke the game open with three goals in the third quarter as Quendel Shoemake tallied twice and Melford Smith added the third goal.
Jeremy Stephens concluded the scoring in the fourth quarter.
Warriors 3
Bok Cito 2
The two-time defending champion Warriors rallied from a 2-0 deficit in the third quarter to take the quarterfinal win on Monday.
After a scoreless first quarter, Bok Cito grabbed a 1-0 lead on a goal from Karady Chickaway with 13:08 remaining in the second quarter.
Chickaway connected again with 9:23 left in the third period to put Bok Cito up 2-0.
Jimmy Comby broke the ice for the Warriors with 7:30 left in the third quarter.
The Warriors, who have won the event six times, got a goal from Jason Grisham with 7:45 left in the final period and another from Jerithan Willis with 4:54 to play to remain alive in the single-elimination tournament.
Beaver Dam 4
Oka Homa 2
Beaver Dam, a seven-time champion, struck for three goals in the first quarter in taking the Monday quarterfinal win over Oka Homa. Beaver Dam got one goal apiece from Johnny Lewis, James Denson, and Ted Johnson in the game's first 13 minutes.
Each team hit the pole once in the second quarter with Kimball Willis scoring for Oka Homa with 5:02 left and Jed John tallying for Beaver Dam at the 1:22 mark.
Neither team scored in the third quarter as Beaver Dam carried a 4-1 lead into the fourth quarter.
Eric Dixon scored with 11:52 left for Oka Homa.
Warriors 8
Pearl River 3
The Warriors got two goals from Darryl Cotton and one each from Robert E. John, Mario Thomas, Giovann Dixon, Ryan Willis, Steve Dixon, and Gabriel Bell in winning Saturday's opening-round game.
The Warriors led 4-0 at halftime and were up 6-0 going into the fourth quarter where Pearl River got goals from Damian Jimmie, Lucas Thomas, and Delanie Hickman.
Unified 1
Tucker 2002 0
Unified took a forfeit victory from Tucker 2002 in Saturday's opening-round contest.
Tiak Hikiya 5
Nanih Waiya 2
Tiak Hikiya from the Standing Pine community led 4-2 at halftime in winning Saturday's first-round contest.
Tiak Hikiya led 3-2 at the end of the first quarter on one goal apiece from Marlon Bell, Carlos Ben Jr., and Larindo Ben. Nanih Waiya got one goal each from Carl Hickman and Leon Wesley.
Another goal by Bell 20 seconds before halftime sent Tiak Hikiya into intermission with a 4-2 lead.
The only goal in the second half was by Tiak Hikiya's Jerry Shumake with 7:02 left in the final quarter.
Women's Division
Bok Cito Ohoyo 11
Tucker Ohoyo 0
No individual scoring was available from Friday's women's semifinal game.
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha 4
Konihatta Ohoyo 1
After a scoreless first quarter Saturday, Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha of Pearl River took a 1-0 lead into halftime on a goal by Peggy Williams.
The Pearl River women upped their lead to 3-0 in the third quarter on scores from Tiffany Kopaddy and Dyranda Jimmie.
Both teams scored once in the fourth quarter. Leslie Fuller tallied for the winners with Shunna Chapman connecting for Konihatta Ohoyo.
Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha 4
Bok Cito Ohoyo 0
The Pearl River team captured the women's championship with Tuesday's shutout of the Bogue Chitto crew.
Leslie Fuller and Robin Isaac scored for Ohoyo Bihhi Ayasha in the first period for an early 2-0 lead.
Larisha Stephens made it 3-0 with a goal with 2:30 remaining in the first half.
The only second half scoring came on a shot from Peggy Williams with 7:15 left in the third quarter.
Men's 35-over Division
South 9
16 Pow Wow 3
No individual scoring was available from Friday's semifinal game.
South 4
North 0
The South won the men's 35-over championship with Tuesday's win.
Harlon Bell led the South with three goals, while Randolph Williams added the other score.