• 45°

Six set for Crossroads baseball games

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
June 7, 2002
Six area baseball players have been selected to play in this year's Crossroads Diamond Club's All-Star Baseball Games at Smith-Wills Stadium Saturday in Jackson.
The Class 4A-5A game is set for 1 p.m. with the Class 1A-2A-3A contest on tap for 6 p.m.
Area players in the 4A-5A contest are Torry Bates and John Iverson of Class 5A South State runner-up Meridian and Matthew Creighton of Quitman. All three are on the South squad, which is coached by Johnny Olsen of Pascagoula and Wayne Whitehead of d'Iberville.
Completing the South roster are Jacob Davis of Biloxi, Win Deavours of Vancleave, Michael Dunn of Pascagoula, Brian Hayes of Magee, Bart Heath and Armando Talavara of Gulfport, Adrian Hibbler of Hattiesburg, Rhyne Hughes and Matt Riser of Class 4A state champion Picayune, Marc Maddox and Drew Robinson of Class 5A state runner-up Oak Grove, Jason Phillips and Jacob Whisenhunt of East Central, and Van Pope of Terry.
On the North 4A-5A roster are Rob Blackledge, Stephen Gostkowski, and Sam Self of Class 5A state champion Madison Central; J.J. Brown of Vicksburg, Kevin Caldwell and Sparky Smith of Tupelo, Drew Jaudon and Lance Martin of Class 4A state runner-up New Hope, Joey Lieberman, John Morgan Mims, and Brian Pettway of Warren Central; John Moran and Brae Wright of Southaven, Jake Parker of Brandon, Brent Patton and Rod Williams of Starkville, and Quincy Walker and Rapheal Ward of Forest Hill.
North coaches are Danny Carlisle of Starkville and Melvin Gillum of Canton.
The South team will also have three area players in the 1A-2A-3A contest. They are Robby Carey of Newton County, Brent McMillan of Newton, and Drew Kenna of Forest.
Completing the South roster are Austin Alexander of Forrest County AHS, Justin Boyd of North Pike, Cass Brister of Loyd Star, Trea Brown of St. Andrew's, Zach Butler of St. John, Adrian Craft of North Forrest, Aron George and Blake Warnock of Class 1A state runner-up St. Aloysius, Andy McCarter of Class 3A state runner-up Purvis, Anthony McLin of McLaurin, Joel Nutt of Morton, Lucas Porter and John Rackley of Columbia, Thomas Royals of Class 2A state runner-up Lumberton, and Joey Sullivan of Mize.
South coaches are David Brown of Morton and George Lott of North Pike.
The North 1A-2A-3A roster includes Nick Armstrong of Baldwyn, Travion Barney of West Lowndes, Russell Bourland of Caledonia, Michael Cooper of Ackerman, Joey Daughtry of Biggersville, Preston Embrey and Jeffrey Ferrell of Class 3A state champion Senatobia, Jason Giachelli and Nick Turnage of Riverside, Michael Gibson and Jim Talley of Class 2A state champion Mooreville, Drew McGehee of Water Valley, Drew Nanney of New Albany, Scott Norwood of Eupora, Brandon Peterson of Leland, Broderick Rogers of Ripley, Kenard Springer of Nettleton, and Bryan Williamson of Itawamba AHS.
North coaches are Rex Berryman of Mooreville and Bobby Sheppeard of Riverside.