• 45°

Junior Auxiliary Ball spotlights children

By Staff
MAKING PREPARATIONS Andy Rainey prepares the lights for the Junior Auxiliary Ball. The ball will be Saturday night at the Frank Cochran Center. Photo by Carisa McCain / The Meridian Star
By Penny Randall/staff writer
Feb. 8, 2002
For this year's Meridian Junior Auxiliary Ball, the organization will continue to celebrate its commitment to the community.
The theme for this year's ball is "Children Are Our Future."
Set for Saturday, the gala begins with a pre-ball party from 7:30 p.m.-9 p.m. at the Frank Cochran Center. The ball will begin at 9 p.m. and last until 1 a.m.
The charity ball is open to anyone 21 and older.
Tickets for the black-tie affair are $40 each and $80 a couple. Heavy hors d'oeuvres will be served at the pre-ball party; the "Band of Oz" from South Carolina will entertain.
Organizers promise a night of socializing, food and music. Proceeds will benefit service projects supported by JA volunteers throughout the year.
While the ball itself is fun and entertaining, no one forgets its main objective to raise money for projects that benefit children.
The Humanitarian Award. The award has been presented since 1994 to a person, organization or business that makes outstanding contributions toward bettering the community. This year's honor went to award-winning actress and Meridian native Sela Ward.
Reading Is Fundamental. JA members distribute books to second, third and fourth graders in all accredited schools in Lauderdale County.
Mississippi State University scholarship. JA sponsors a scholarship at Mississippi State University-Meridian Campus for a junior or senior education major.
Mini-grant funding. JA provides mini-grants to elementary teachers in all accredited Lauderdale County schools for projects or materials to enrich and enhance curriculum.
Clair Huff, president.
Kathy Luke, first vice president.
Mary Billups, second vice president.
Aimee Tramontana, third vice president.
Melissa Goldman, recording secretary.
Stephanie Forester, corresponding secretary.
Lynn Kimbriel, treasurer.
Alexa Marcello, ball chairperson.
Cat Richardson, sponsorship.
Kim Mosley, publicity.
Jamie Cater, parliamentarian.