• 43°

Lady Tigers set to open season

By By Jeff Byrd/staff writer
Feb. 12, 2002
LIVINGSTON, Ala. Last year, the University of West Alabama Lady Tiger softball team took some lumps because of their inexperience.
That should not be a problem in 2002. UWA head coach Janet Montgomery says her team's returning core group will build a good foundation for the upcoming season.
Eight Lady Tigers starters return for another season of Gulf South Conference action. The season opens on Friday at the Delta State University Tournament in Tunica, Miss.
West Alabama went 20-24 overall last season. Inside the GSC East Division, things were tougher as the Lady Tigers finished 8-17 and in seventh place in the eight-team division.
West Alabama is shooting for a berth in the GSC postseason tournament which will be held in Meridian on May 4-5.
The Lady Tiger offense should be better with the return of second-team All-GSC pitcher/infielder Zayne Smith from Dallas, Texas. The senior batted .315 with 14 RBIs.
On the mound she was 14-12 with a 1.64 earned run average in 30 appearances.
Leadoff batter and catcher Kim Quattlebaum is back. She batted .276 and drove in 16 runs last year.
Billy Jo Spann from Bossier Parish (La.) Community College, will play first when Smith pitches. Kim Long, like Quattlebaum, is one of the talented juniors. She hit .213 last year with 10 runs scored and will play second base.
Freshman Tamara Neal will take the shortstop role. At third base will be senior Fawn Murphee who hit .200 with 11 runs scored.
The outfield will be anchored by senior centerfielder Carrie Moon. She batted .233 with seven RBIs and nine runs scored in 2001. Miranda Wailey, a junior from Cottondale, hit three home runs last year and will play in left.
In right field will be Melanie Brown, a junior transfer from Montgomery.
Helping the Lady Tigers both on the mound and at first will be Meridian Community College transfer Amy Adcox. Kasey Smith, a transfer from Southern Union, will see some time at third along with returning second baseman Rebekah Griffin.
The Delta State Tournament will be an eight-team affair and feature four teams from the GSC West including host DSU, Central Arkansas, Southern Arkansas and Arkansas Monticello.