• 39°

Rain doesn't dampen rodeo fun

By Staff
HOLD ON n Scotty Rogers of Adairsville, Ga., gets a tight grip with his heels as he hangs on during the bareback riding competition at the Ralph Morgan Semi Annual Rodeo Friday night. Photo by Paula Merritt/The Meridian Star
By Matt Barrett/The Meridian Star
Aug. 18, 2001
A big crowd is expected tonight for the final round of the annual Ralph Morgan Rodeo in Lauderdale.
Despite heavy rain, more than 2,500 turned out for the 52 rodeo Friday night. Rodeo fans came from all over the state and did not seem to mind getting a little wet to see the show.
This rodeo was made possible by the sponsorship of the Rush Sports Medicine team. "Events like these are what help to bring our community together," said Chuck Reece of Rush Hospital.
Rush has been a sponsor of this event for more than 10 years.
On hand for the third year was retired rodeo great Tuff Hedeman. Tuff spent time at the Rodeo Friday night signing autographs and shaking hands with the fans. Tuff Also made rounds at Rush Foundation Hospital Friday, lifting the spirits of some of his fans.
Rodeo announcer Mike Mathis says, " With this type of great family fun, I cannot see who would not want to make the rodeo. The Concession stands are home grown and these events are not about money."
The actions continues tonight at the Ralph Morgan Rodeo Arena, starting at 7:30. Tickets are on sale at the gate and the rodeo will go on, rain or shine.
Here are the leaders after the first round.
Bullriding: 1) Sheldon Isom; 2) Scott Sanders; 3) Chad Phipps; 4) Micky Ownes; 3) D.J. Domangue; 4) Tim Edge; 5) Randall Hinote; 6) Doug Vincent;
Barrel Racing: 1) Cami Dewees; 2) Ashley Norris; 3) Keli Nelson; 4) Kristi Gibbs; 5) Patti Jo Higdon; 6) Paulette McNeil; 7) Christy Lameier;
Bareback: 1) Scotty Rogers; 2) Phil Broome; 3) Josh moon; 4) Mike Whitesell;
Saddle Bronc: 1) Josh Hunt; 2) Audie J. reagan; 3) Chad Cole; 4) Ethan Lee; 5) Lee Griffin
Calf roping: 1)Todd Gould; 2) Gilbert Jennings;
Steer Wrestling1) Brad Morgan; 2) Wil Durrance; 3) Ivon Nelson; 4) Bret McMillion; 5) Trey Clayton III.