• 32°
franklin county times

Excellence in education

By Staff
The STAR Student and Teacher for Quitman High School for the 2000-01 school year are mother and daughter.
Lauren E. Majure, 17, is Quitman High School's STAR Student. STAR Students are selected from each high school based on academic excellence, scores on the American College Test and scholastic averages.
Majure is the daughter of Stan and Cissi Majure.
She is a member of Who's Who Among American High School Students, Mu Alpha Beta and the Physics Club. She has served as president of her school's National Honor Society and Beta Club, and has been as Student Council representative.
Majure is a cheerleader. She has been a Clarke County Junior Miss state finalist, scholastic and talent winner. She attended Mississippi Governor's School. She is an All-American Scholar and has received highest average awards for English, French, trigonometry, U.S. history and psychology. Majure has also received the Woodsmen of the World Award.
Majure has performed in the Delta State and All-State Honor Choirs and the QHS Chorus and has received superior ratings at Hymn Festival and Pre-College Audition.
Majure plans to attend Louisiana State University as a pre-med major.
The STAR Teacher for Quitman High School is choral music teacher Virginia H. "Cissi" Majure. She has taught for more than 12 years.
Majure attended Mississippi University for Women and the University of Southern Mississippi where she earned a bachelor's degree in music education. She is certified to teach gifted students, K-12 and regular education for K-8.
Majure was Lauderdale County's Teacher of the Year for 1994. Her students have consistently been chosen for All-State and Delta State Honor Choirs. Her choir was chosen this year to perform at Carnegie Hall with a Youth Chorale.
Dana Long of Meridian has been named an All-American Scholar by the United States Achievement Academy.
Long attends Kate Griffin Junior High School. She is the daughter of Jerry and Margaret Long and the granddaughter of Ronnie Long and Linda Lindsey, Carolyn Creel and Perlis Warren, all of Meridian.
JACKSON Matthew Rae Mabry of Collinsville has been awarded a Second Century Scholarship from Milsaps College. A senior at West Lauderdale High School, Mabry is the son of Raeburn and Hope Mabry.
BUTLER, Ala. Maryanne Bruister, a junior at Patrician Academy, has been selected to participate in the National Student Leadership Conference on International Diplomacy. She is the daughter of Gloria Brown Bruister, a native of Meridian.
The United States Achievement Academy has announced Andy Thomas of Meridian has been named an All-American Scholar. Thomas, a student at Clarkdale High School, is the son of Buster and Cheryl Thomas and the grandson of Jack and Myrtle Bell of Meridian and Rocky and Bonnie Jordan of Howard City, Mich.
LIVINGSTON, Ala. East Mississippi Community College graduates Joann H. Brown of Livingston and Derrick Edward Conner of Shuqualak have received Community College Trustee Scholarships to attend the University of West Alabama.
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. Brian Smith of Meridian received the Glenn Scholarship for language missions during a Department of World Languages and Cultures awards ceremony at Samford University. Smith is the son of Dr. and Mrs. Douglas Smith. He is a management major and Spanish minor.
STARKVILLE Connie Tew of Forest is among the newest members of the Mississippi State University Roadrunners student recruiting team. Tew, a junior, is majoring in banking and finance.
STARKVILLE Senior forestry major Scott Edwards of Meridian has received an award from Mississippi State University for excellence in research. He was honored at the 2001 Research Awards Banquet. Edwards is the son of the Rev. and Mrs. Wayne Edwards.
HATTIESBURG Adelia Luke of Collinsville has been inducted into Gamma Beta Phi honor society at the University of Southern Mississippi. Luke, 20, is a junior psychology major. She is the daughter of Danny and Melanie Luke.
DECATUR The following area East Central Community College students received Alumni Memorial Awards recently:
Justin Stovall of Philadelphia Billy Wayne Baucum Secondary Education Award; Ashley Jones of Forest W.A. Coursey, Jr. Engineering Award; Bridget Minor of Little Rock Jack B. Mayo Phi Theta Kappa Award; Andy Murphy of Meridian Leon Eubanks Kaljc-Peers Award; Jennifer Cuchens of Newton Sue Yarbrough Fulgham Speech Award; Jessica Brown of Carthage Dr. Edwin Miller Medical Services Award, Alatha Chaney English Award; Keitha Smith of Enterprise Opal McMullan Dickinson Elementary Education Award; Melissa Pendergrass of Philadelphia Danny R. Killens Engineering award; Kirk Johnston of Decatur William S. Griffin Men's Intramural Award; Randy Brunson of Sebastopol and Lakendrick Houston of Louisville Andrew F. Webb Football Award.