• 61°
franklin county times

East Central awards 410 diplomas, certificates

By Staff
From staff reports
DECATUR Diplomas were presented to about 410 graduates Friday during East Central Community College's commencement exercises before a packed home side of the football stadium.
About 320 students were candidates for graduation. Others completed degree requirements following the 2000 summer and fall terms, or received special certificates.
ECCC President Dr. Phil A. Sutphin, participating in his first spring graduation ceremony at the college since becoming president last July, awarded degrees and certificates to the following Summer 2000 graduates:
LEAKE COUNTY: Cayla Chamblee, Mary Chervenak, Tiffany Hutchins and Cory Rawson, all of Carthage; and Heather Compton, Union.
NESHOBA GQUNTY: Crystal Bell, Odessa Denson, Janette Farve, Megan Gibson, Mistie Lindsey, Charity Peebles, Marissa Shannon and Martha Wood, all of Philadelphia; and Linda Pierce, Union.
NEWTON COUNTY: Carla Jacome-Cluff, Hickory; Babalyn Bender, Annynese Edwards and Barbara Evans, all of Lawrence; Melody Dewitt, Little Rock; Cassandra Arrington, Alva Flowers, Esther Gallaspy, Lori Hollingsworth, Shenikia Love, Yalonda Whiffield and Lori Winstead, all of Newton; and Sharon Allen, Deirdre Arrington, Candra Davis and Melissa Madden, all of Union.
SCOTT COUNTY: Melanie Funguy, Conehatta; Vanesha Battle, Haley Chance and Aaron Hines, all of Forest; Miranda Davis and Latonya Gray, both of Lake; Ivory Bowie, Lena; Tammy Munn, Morton; and Leslie Risher, Pulaski.
WINSTON COUNTY: Gloria Carter, Cynthia Cistrunk and Cynthia Hoskins, all of Louisville.
JASPER COUNTY: Dana Harris, Louin; and Gail Stephens, Vossburg.
LAUDERDALE COUNTY: Atika Ball, LaSondra Mercer and LaDonna Mosley, all of Meridian.
SMITH COUNTY: Enoch Ellis Jr., Louin.
Fall 2000 graduates
LEAKE COUNTY: Belita May and Dana Withers, both of Carthage; and James Brown, Lena.
NESHOBA COUNTY: Demeteria Hayman, Angela Hundley, Monica Issac, John Perdeye and Dewayne Thomas, all of Philadelphia; Jennifer Abel, Sebastopol; and Josh French, Union.
NEWTON COUNTY: John Thomas, Conehatta; Jason Pierce, Decatur; Marsha Evans and Pamela Williams, both of Hickory; Jenna Tune, Lake;
LaBreeska Chesney, Julie White and Sasya Wilhelm, all of Little Rock; Amos Thames and Amanda Walley, both of Newton; and Jason Burroughs, Union.
SCOTT COUNTY: Greg Sanders, Forest.
WINSTON COUNTY: Sandy Adcock, Kevin Hindman, TaCorey Humes, Peggy Humphries and Rena Perry, all of Louisville; and LaShandra Carter,
ATTALA: Jerome Mallet, Kosciusko.
LAUDERDALE: Stephen Walker, Meridian.
FLORIDA: Levi Duncan, Eustis.
Spring 2001 candidates
for graduation
LEAKE COUNTY: Sidney Anderson, Nicholas Barham, Jennifer Beemon, E. Bell, David Brooks, Jessica Brown, Martha Burris, Codie Carroll, Kent Chamblee, Laura Chamblee, Ramona Corkern, Kristopher Davidson, Elsie Farve, Timothy Gaddis, Joseph Grice, Tammy Keen, Darwin Kellum, Barbara Lewis, Penny Mitch, James Parker, Marcus Pickel, Justin Proctor, Rachel Roland, Jessica Sanders, Daniel Smith, Allison Thornton, Ryan Wade, Michael Whittington, Shelby Withers and Joshua Young, all of Carthage; Donya Armon, Melanie Burkett, Kosciusko; Joseph Burns and Amber Johnson, all of Lena; Patrick Wilcher, Philadelphia; Holly Adcock, Union; and Jessica Caston, Renodda Dorman, Wilman Guidry, Ellis Harrison, Tammy Johnson, Karmen Jones, Roylean Payton, Meredith Sanders, Timothy Stewart, Grandale Tubby and Joseph Tucker, all of Walnut Grove.
NESHOBA COUNTY: Trina Anderson, Sandi Anthony, Jennifer Beckham, Richard Brown, llevit Bryan, Leslie Bryan, Keyla Carney, Nicole Clemons, Angela Cole, Dexter Cole, Rinada Cole, Johnny Cook, Jill Dansby, Alex Dees, Jennifer Fortune, Mark Harris, Robert Hodgins, Lisa Hutchins, Haley Ingram, Jessica Johnson, Delnita Jones, Shayla Kirksey, Mary Lewis, Adam Mann, Brandi Martin, Candee Nance, Roxanne Nickerson, Asylbek Osmonov, Melissa Pendergrass, Heather Posey, Sharon Reed, Dustin Renfrow, Joyce Richardson, Dorine Sims, Melba Smith, Sharon Spears, Justin Stovall, Jeremy Thomas, Christopher Webb, Benjie Wesley, Mattie Williams, Sharon Williams and Michael Withers, all of Philadelphia; and Jeremy Bell, Timothy Cager, Anita Campbell, Robert Crosby, Sherry Dionne, Sarah French, Jeremy Fryery, Mitchell Graham, Kay Harvey, Alethia Hitt, Terrencia McBeath, Jessica McDowell, Erica Nicholson, Bruce Sharp, Jimmy Wilson, Kittie Wilson, Amy Winstead and Michael Winstead, all of Union.