• 61°
franklin county times

Students honored at MCC's Annual Awards night

By Staff
Special to The Star
May 3, 2001
Almost two hundred students, teachers and college organizations were honored recently at Meridian Community College's Annual Awards night.
Institutional Excellence Awards: Laura Hoffman, Kelly Dabbs, Dusti Parker, Justin McDonald, Ryan Satcher, Courtney Nelson and Sammie Cole, Winwright Scholarship Recipients; Erica Huntley and Daniel Watson, All USA Academic Team; and Watson, H.M. Ivy Award.
Leadership, Scholarship and Performance Awards: Amy Adcox, Andrew McLeod and Hilary Allen, Outstanding Athlete Award; Rhonda Griffith, Outstanding Medical Laboratory Student; Dennis McDill, Outstanding Radiologic Technology Student; Jill Beach, Outstanding Dental Technology Student; Becca Webb, The Jason Marshall Award; Todd Scott, Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant; Stephanie Long, Practical Nursing Award; Amy Clark, Margaret Armstrong Excellence in Nursing 2000; Krista Bates, Margaret Armstrong Excellence in Nursing 2001; Andrew Webb, Outstanding Music Student Award; Scott Brinkley, Theatre Award; Christine Myers, BOT Outstanding One-Year Student; Chiquta Brown, BOT Outstanding Two-Year Student; Toby Embrey, Outstanding Computer Technology; C.J. Beal, Outstanding Hotel and Restaurant Management Award; Scarlett Monsour, Outstanding Marketing Student; Bryan Tennyson, Electronics Technology Award; Terry Phillips, Drafting and Design Technology Award; Paula Payne, Child Development Technology Student; Kajuan Johnson, Outstanding Respiratory Care Student; Jonathan Tullos, Outstanding Broadcast Student; and Velma Jean Purvis, Outstanding Health Information Student.
Academic Excellence Awards: Erica Huntley, Sue Key Excellence in Mathematics Award and Outstanding Physical Sciences Award; Eric Pickard, Outstanding Biological Sciences Award; Joy Moulds, Jimmie Evans Social Science Award; Blake Mathis, Maude Smith English Award; and Adam Stewart, Foreign Language Award.
Sports Recognition Awards: Sammie Cole, Men's Basketball; Catesha Riley, Women's Basketball; and Samuel Macharia, Cross Country.
B.G. Raden Award for Outstanding Student Organizations: Phi Theta Kappa, Student Association of Dental Hygiene and DECA.
Top 10 Organizations: Phi Theta Kappa, Student Association of Dental Hygiene, DECA, Baptist Student Union, Wesley, Lions Club, Phi Beta Lambda, Black Student Association, Future Teachers Association and Organization of Student Nurses.
Faculty/Staff Awards: Mary Taylor, T.J. Harris Award and Rickey Creel and Ginger Crawford received the John A. Johnson Award.