• 54°
franklin county times

Local students receive honors

By Staff
Special to The Star
May 4, 2001
Four West Lauderdale High School students will leave Saturday for San Jose, Calif., to compete in the International Science and Engineering Fair May 6-12.
Crystal Moore and Candace Roller earned the right to compete at the fair by winning "Best of the Fair" awards March 23 at the Region V Science Fair at Mississippi State University. Jeremy Gerrard and Nicholas Webb will attend as alternates.
Moore will compete in botany; Roller will compete in environmental sciences.
More than 1,000 science students from 49 states and 40 countries will attend. West Lauderdale High School has had 63 participants in International Fairs over the past 15 years. The students have won 22 awards at the international level.
Moore, Roller, Gerrard and Webb will return to Meridian May 12.
CLINTON The Mississippi College Honors Day Convocation was recently held to recognize students for their academic achievements and service to the university.
Rebecca Sara-Nell McCarty of Meridian received the Student Body Award for the Mortar Board Freshman Woman of the Year for 2000-2001. Roy "Drew" Andrew Dabbs Jr. of Meridian was given The H.M. King Memorial Scholarship Award. Jon "Jackie" David McLaughlin of Meridian was given the Mrs. Ellen Lundquist Memorial Scholarship. Karen Hand of Meridian was inducted into the Mortar Board.
Dana Massey, a senior at Newton County High School, placed first in the Math Competition at the recent Mississippi Beta Convention in Biloxi. Dana will be competing at the National Beta Convention on June 18. She is the daughter of Mike and Paula Massey of Decatur.
The United States Achievement Academy has announced that Violet DuBose of Meridian has been named an All-American Scholar. She will appear in the "All-American Scholar Yearbook," which is published nationally.
DuBose attends Kate Griffin Junior High School and was nominated by Ms. Prater. She is the daughter of Dr. Roger and Mary Brown DuBose of Meridian.
The following Newton County High School students recently competed in Quiz Bowl at the State Beta Club Convention on the Mississippi Gulf Coast: Jennifer Walley, Ty Dowden, Allen Davis, Tina Morgan and Dexter Akins.
Jill Hicks, a Lamar High School senior, has won a national Principal's Leadership Award scholarship competing against 7,500 school winners from throughout the United States. Hicks is also a National Merit Scholar.
STARKVILLE The following local Mississippi State University students are participating in the Cooperative Education Program: Terrence Carter and Teri Rosenbaum, both of Meridian; Joshua Quinn of Union; and Mary Crocker of Philadelphia.
The MSU Cooperative Education Program is available to students studying agriculture and life sciences, architecture, arts and sciences, business and industry, education, engineering and forest resources. This program allows the student to receive a college education as well as practical experience.
Newton County Elementary School held a Reading Fair recently and named the following winners:
First place: Russ Thompson, Katy Ezell, Emily Bracken, Hannah Farmer, Katy Jones, McInzey Gannon, Allyn Chesney, Jesse Vance, Robert Embrey, Ethan Chance and Spencer Cash.
Second place: Wayne Dowden, Kirby Keith, Tiffany Spence, Stephanie Lunsford, Jordan Vance, Dylan Harris, Erin Thornton, Ashley Gressett, Caleb Benson, Michael Dover, Anna Morrow, John Corbin, Chelsey Griffin, Savannah Vance and Heather Johnson.
Third place: Aaron Scoggin, Annalyse Thorne, Brittney Reed, Mallory Jones, Brooke Morgan, Tiffany Spence, Jamal Pruitt, Will Brand, Bailey Brown, Kellye Reeves and Elise Gibbs.
Honorable mention: Kelsie Tadlock, Aaron Brown, Cody Addy, Cassie Clearman, Emily Kastla, Claire Tadlock, Ashley Amis, Austin Reeves, Marli Maseda, Sam Lewis, Jonathan Fedrick and Delorean Phillips.
The following Kate Griffin Junior High School students have been named to Who's Who Among Students in America: Bruce Clay, Amber Craft, Julia Crowell, Aakeela Hudnall, Latrasha Hunt, Daniel Johnson, Sharrika Laneair, Catrina Morton, Ashley Neslon, Mansonetta Short, Terrence Smith, Sekeatha Spencer, Amanda Todd, Rebecca Weir, Brandi Torrence, Amy Payton and Ashley Stringfellow.
DECATUR The following members of the East Central Community College chapter of Vocational Industrial Clubs of America were honored recently at a state competition on the Gulf Coast: Steven Walker of Meridian, first place for auto mechanics; Benji Wesley of Philadelphia, second place for welding; and Kevin Pierce of Decatur, third place for industrial motor controls.