• 70°

Record number of MCC students inducted into scholastic fraternity

By Staff
Special to The Star
April 24, 2001
A record number of Meridian Community College students 93  were inducted Monday into Phi Theta Kappa, the scholastic fraternity for community and junior college students.
The installation ceremony spotlighted not only new members, but also new officers. Phi Theta Kappans who will graduate in May were also recognized and received gold stoles to wear with their gowns at commencement.
New chapter officers include: Alison Davis, president; Hughes; Shawn Stewart, vice president of leadership; Melissa Wooten, vice president of scholarship; Phillip Hendrick, vice president of fellowship; Elizabeth Anderson, secretary; Jason Holladay, treasurer; and David Close, historian.
Spring inductees included:
Elizabeth Ann Anderson, Anna Alison Bailey, Trisi Michelle Baskin, Michel Paola Blackburn, Michelle Leigh Blackwell, Karla Kaye Boutwell, Raymond Philip Boykin, Candice L. Bryan, Brady Eugene Buck, Leah Margaret Chancelor and Lyrita Dale Cherry, David Rashad Close, Sammie Hayward Cole, Preston Willie Cooper, Kristen Renee' Culpepper, Carrie Delyn Daigrepont, Courtney Lynn Darnell, Alison Nicole Davis, Christopher Lamar Davis, Lori Anne Dickens, Kevin Lee Doxey, Amber Denise Drake, Carla Chavon Edwards, Jennifer Diane Edwards, Matt Elliott, Rachell Jean Fagan, Lori Lee Fleming, Richard Tyler Gaddis, Mary Katharine Gambill, Brandy Elaine Gates, Omari M. Gomes, Michael Alan Goodson, Jeremy Elijah Gray, Christy Lynn Green, Marion Marksdale Green, Lindsay Brooke Griffin, Lindsay Summer Gunn, Danielle Hope Haendel, Jessica Ann Hall, Virginia Ray Harmon, Orin Anne Heidelberg, Pamela Elaine Hemrick, Phillip Matthew Hendricks, Jason Clayton Holladay, Clinton Seth Hughes, Trent Jerome Hughes, Cameron Ray Hunt, Holly Marie Jones, Samuel Njoroge Macharia, Jeremiah Meseo Maeda, Tiffany Christina Martin, Kevin Wendell McDonald, Calista Lee McLellan, Michael Hunter McVay, Brandi Leigh Meloche, Meredith McCullough Miller, Amy Jeannine Mixon, Kenneth Robert Moser, Monica L. Mosley, Nathan Edward Myatt, Christine E. Myers, Jennifer Frances Olsen, James David Palmer, Candace Bianca Pringle, Christopher Allen Radican, Jared Ross Rainer, Justin Chard Robinson, William Brennan Rutledge, Tyler Philip Scarbrough, Evelyn Rae Smith, Manian Elise Snell, William Shawn Stewart, Joel Howard Stinson, Brianne D. Stokes, Kristie Lee Sullivan, Thomas Jay Taylor, Wyvania Tynett Thomas, Vaughn Leonard Threatt, Marcelene Michelle Thompson, Candance Dione Trest, Monica Lynn Truhitt, Tasha N. Trunell, Michael Jonathan Turner, Dana Leigh Vance, Craig Davis Watson, Jennifer Lynn Webb, Candyiland Nichelle West, Brenda S. White, Melissa Catherine Wooten and Jared Wesley Wright.
Transfer members recognized were Melissa G. Byrd, Danielle L. Williams and Laney Ryals.
Serving as advisers of PTK are Melissa Jackson, Barbara Jones and Diann Sollie.