• 43°
franklin county times

Gaddis, Lynch among NAACP award winners

By Staff
MOTHER OF THE YEAR Erma Gaddis, right, the NAACP's Mother of the Year, stands as she is introduced by Willie M. Brown at the organization's annual banquet Saturday night. Photo by Steve Swogetinsky/The Meridian Star
By Steve Swogetinsky/The Meridian Star
April 22, 2001
Erma Gaddis was named "Mother of the Year" Saturday night at the annual Meridian/Lauderdale County NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet.
The Mother of the Year contest is an annual fund-raising event for the local NAACP chapter. Five mothers representing their churches compete for the title.
Gaddis, an LPN at Jeff Anderson Regional Medical Center, represented First Union Baptist Church. Linda Johnson, representing Spring Hill Baptist Church, was the first runner-up, followed by Debbie Pollard, 31st Avenue Baptist Church, Jewel Daniels of Pilgrim Progress Baptist Church, and Sarah Rivers of A.M.E. Zion Church.
Doris Slaughter, chapter treasurer, received the president's award.
Ed Lynch, a member of the Meridian Public School System's board of trustees, was named NAACP Man of the Year, while Liz Donna Michael, a teacher at Kate Griffin Junior High, was named NAACP Woman of the Year. Just two days ago, Michael was selected as alternate "teacher of the year" by the Mississippi Department of Education.
The entrepreneur awards went to Ricky Dancy, owner of Direct Casket Sales Inc.; Alma Walker, owner of Unique Lingerie &Gift Shop; and Cedric Clark of Clark Funeral Home.
The speaker for the banquet was Charles W. Tisdale, publisher of the Jackson Advocate. Tisdale told those gathered that "a level playing field" is needed to solve inequality and racism.
NAACP President Obie Clark expressed disappointment in Gov. Ronnie Musgrove and members of the state Legislature for allowing the state flag issue to be voted on. Clark said he felt the Legislature should have changed the flag, as the Georgia Legislature did in that state.
Steve Swogetinsky is regional editor of The Meridian Star. Call him at 693-1551, ext. 3217, or e-mail him at sswogetinsky@themeridianstar.com.