• 61°
franklin county times

Combest and Boykin take Early Bird title

By By Rocky Higginbotham/The Meridian Star
March 20, 2001
Jack Combest and Johnny Boykin fired a second-day total of 61 Sunday and captured the championship of the Mississippi Golf Association Early Bird Scramble at Briarwood Country Club.
Combest and Boykin finished with a two-day total of 123, shooting a 62 Saturday.
Willie Frazier and George Polizzi were three strokes back with a 126, firing a 63 both days. Two teams shot 127s: Bobby Espey and Ray Ethridge; and Robert Trout and Scotty Peek.
Here's a rundown of this past weekend's other winners:
First Flight: Mac Barnes and Paul Entrekin fired a 61 Sunday after shooting a 68 Saturday and took top honors in the First Flight.
Benji Baskin and Jeff Rainey shot a 132 and were second, while Dan Kerr and Walter Williams as well as Steve Nelson and Kevin Bounds both had 133s.
Second Flight: Les Little and Robert Frazier shot a 137 and won a tiebreaker over Rodney Scarbrough and Sammy Broadhead to claim the Second Flight. John Douglass and Jon Harm shot a 138, while Howard Combs and Jerry Simmons had a 139.
Third Flight: Mike Easterwood and Rocky Rhodes shot a 138 to claim Third Flight honors. Don Owens and Larry Key were one shot back with a 139, while Gerry and Bill McBride had a 140 and Billy McInnis and Don Cagle a 143.
Fourth Flight: Bill Hammock and Robert Bailey bested their first-day score of 74 by seven strokes Sunday and finished with a 141 to win the Fourth Flight.
The teams of David Webb/Marty White (146), Shawn Eubanks/Kim Eubanks (147) and Teresa May/Brok Hollingshead (147) were second, third and fourth, respectively.
Fifth Flight: The Fifth Flight was topped by Mark Beavers and Randy Stokes (149), followed by Steve Williamson and Greg Wooten (151), Brent Davidson and Raymond Moore (152) and Chuck Reece and Rick Barry (152).
Sixth Flight: The Sixth Flight was led by Ralph Germany and D'Wayne May with a 153, followed by Chris Nutt and Michael Lee (154), Dale Jefferson and Don Herbert (155) and Jennifer Thomason and Dan Yelverton (157).
Rocky Higginbotham is the sports editor of The Meridian Star. E-mail him at rhigginbotham@themeridianstar.com.