• 52°

Late rally gives Diamond Dogs 2000th victory

By Staff
From staff, wire reports
March 14, 2001
Josh West had an RBI single that capped a two-out, two-run ninth inning rally and gave Mississippi State a 6-5 victory over New Orleans Tuesday night.
West's single followed consecutive doubles by Matthew Maniscalco and Brent Lewis off Kevin Uhles (0-1).
It was the 2,000th win in 111 seasons of Mississippi State baseball. State is the 18th college baseball team to reach 2,000 victories.
Jon Knott had a two-run home run for the Bulldogs (10-5). Steve Rowell had a solo homer for the Privateers (8-8).
Josh Wooten (1-1) allowed one hit in two innings and retired UNO in order in the ninth.
Ole Miss 10, Murray St. 0: Lance Jones homered and drove in a career-high four runs and three pitchers combined on a six-hitter as Ole Miss blanked Murray State 10-0 Tuesday night.
Josh Christian also homered for the Rebels (15-5) and Clint Farrar went 4-for-4 with two runs scored. Jones was 1-for-3 and Brent Sterbens was 3-for-4 for Ole Miss.
Dan McShea (1-1) started and worked five innings, allowing four hits and two walks. Joel Lyons pitched three innings and allowed two hits while striking out three. Glen Morris pitched a perfect inning with two strikeouts.
Murray State is 11-7.
Southern Miss 4, Southeastern Louisiana 2: Allen Winningham homered in the seventh inning to break a tie and USM edged Southeastern Louisiana.
Winningham's home run off Josh Kaplan (1-4) gave the Golden Eagles (13-6) a 3-2 lead. Kaplan worked 6 2-3 and gave up six hits and three runs.
Brad Montgomery added a sacrifice fly in the eighth that extended the lead to 4-2.
Daniel Stewart (2-1) pitched six innings, allowing six hits and two runs one earned. Anthony Rawson recorded the final out for the Golden Eagles for his fourth save of the season.
Anthony Krajancic was 2-for-4 with a home run for SE Louisiana (11-16).
DSU 23, Lyon College 11: The 10-ranked Statesmen scored 23 runs on 23 hits to improve to 16-5 overall and will play Jackson State at Smith Wills Stadium today at 6:30 p.m.
Bryan Parkton was 4-for-4 with three runs scored and three home runs. Brad Wallace was 4-for-5 with a home run, two RBI and three runs scored.
Bradly Clay went 3-for-4 with four RBIs and three runs scored. Marc Van Every went 2-for-2 with three runs scored and three RBIs and Steven Tomaszewski hit a three-run homer.
Tremain Rogers hit the Statesmen's fifth and final home run with a solo shot in the sixth.
Chad Thompson (1-0) was the winner.