• 77°
franklin county times

COLUMBUS Sarah Asmus of Meridian, an education major at Mississippi University for Women, recently completed student teaching. To qualify for student teaching, students must be fully admitted to the teacher education program in accordance with the State Department of Education guidelines.

By Staff
HATTIESBURG Emily Snowden was among 11 students at William Carey College named Presidential Excellence Scholarship recipients.
Presidential Scholars who attend Carey as freshman must have been selected as valedictorian, salutatorian or be a STAR student at their high school, or have excelled on standardized test such as the ACT. Presidential Scholars who attend Carey as transfer students must have a 3.7 grade point average on college hours earned.
STARKVILLE Meagan Elizabeth Scott of Meridian is the 2000-01 recipient of the Si Corley Memorial Scholarship from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Mississippi State University. She is a junior majoring in human development and family studies in the School of Human Sciences.
Scott is the daughter of Jacquelyn S. Longmeier.
STARKVILLE Rachel White of Newton and Scott Wiggins of Porterville are among 878 students participating in the Cooperative Education Program at Mississippi State University.
After completing this third work semester with EnSafe Inc. at Memphis, White will return to the MSU campus to complete requirements toward a degree in chemical engineering.
After completing this third work semester with the Corps of Engineers-Mobile (Ala.), Wiggins will return to the MSU campus to complete requirements toward a degree in electrical engineering.
The MSU Cooperative Education Program is available to students in agriculture and life sciences, architecture, arts and sciences, business and industry, education, engineering and forest resources. The program allows students to receive a college education as well as practical experience in their chosen field of study.
JACKSON Summer Overby of Meridian, a student at Mississippi School for the Blind, recently won a prize in a poster contest held during the school's observance of Low
Vision Awareness Weeks.
During the week-long observance, students and staff participated in activities designed to inform and raise awareness of issues related to low vision.
STARKVILLE Several local residents are among 150 students newly inducted in Phi Kappa Phi, the leading national honor society at Mississippi State University.
Phi Kappa Phi membership is open to seniors at the top of their class in all majors. Graduate students, juniors and some sophomores whose scholastic achievement are at the very highest levels also are eligible. At present, there are more than 250 chapters worldwide with a total membership of more than 50,000.
The newly inducted students from the Meridian area are:
Carthage Lora J. Cochran, a senior elementary education major.
Collinsville Shannon L. Eubanks, a senior human sciences/human development and family studies major.
Ellisville Brett D. Cooley, a senior mechanical engineering major.
Meridian Thomas A. Bittick, a senior interdisciplinary studies major; Joy E. Clayton, a senior social work major; Leah K. Dyess, a junior human sciences/food, nutrition and dietetics major; Robert E. Evans, a senior electrical engineering major; Jennifer F. Jackson, a senior elementary education major; and Joel A. Tillery, a senior biological engineering major.
Noxapater Jennifer L. Ezelle, a senior elementary education major.
Philadelphia Mary J. Crocker, a senior accounting major; and Donald K. Nance, a junior aerospace engineering major.
Toomsuba Lisa M. Gaines, a senior elementary education major.
Union Miranda K. Beckham, a junior general business administration major.
Yazoo City Mary E. Browning, a junior general business administration/marketing major.
JACKSON Several Meridian area residents were named to the Dean's and President's Scholars lists at Millsaps College for the fall 2000 semester.
Students who earn a grade point average of 3.50 to 3.849 are named to the Dean's List and students who earn a grade point average of 3.850 to 4.0 are named to the President's List.
The students are:
Dean's List Paul Wright Bresnahan, Julie Marie Strickland and Jason Collins Jones, all of Meridian; Lauren Michelle Everett of Newton; and Walton Wade White and Jennifer Carin Breazeale, both of Philadelphia.
President's List Julie Christine Skipper and Rachelle Diane White, both of Meridian.
DALLAS The Meridian High School Wildcat Band performed in the parade and half-time show at the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Music Festival on New Year's Day.
Twenty-four bands from the festival performed during the pregame and half-time ceremonies at the 65th annual Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Classic New Year's Day football game in front of 63,546 fans.
GREENVILLE, N.C. Mark Elliot Cowey of Meridian received a master of business administration degree during the 2000 fall commencement at East Carolina University. More than 2,400 degrees and certificates of advanced study were conferred during the exercises.
BATON ROUGE Tisha Lanise Knott of Meridian was among 15 cadets commissioned as officers in the armed forces during a ceremony held prior to 2000 fall commencement exercises at Louisiana State University.
Knott, who earned a degree in microbiology, has been selected for the Army Transportation Corps and her first duty assignment will be at Fort Eustis, Va.
Dr. Roger DuBose Jr. of Meridian has been awarded status as a Diplomate of the American Board of Psychological Specialties (DABPS). The American College of Forensic Examiners (ACFE) recognizes experience and education of individuals engaged in forensic examinations and multi-
disciplinary training in their field.
Diplomate status is reserved for those individuals who are able to meet the stringent requirements of the ACFE in the areas of knowledge, skill, training and experiences in the art and science of forensics.
The ACFE is an international membership association, developed to bring together professionals from a variety of disciplines to provide a reliable, credible forum for ethical and professional standards for forensics. It is comprised of forensic professionals actively engaged n the fields of medicine, psychology, criminology, dentistry, toxicology, questioned documents, accident reconstruction, crime scene reconstruction, criminal investigation, engineering, polygraph, risk analysis and voice identification, among others.