• 46°
franklin county times

MAA banquet honors, encourages local athletes

By By Richard Dark/The Meridian Star
Jan. 14, 2001
Keep up the good work.
That was the theme voiced Saturday at the Meridian Athletic Awards Banquet and annual meeting. The annual gathering drew more than 200 people and was held at the Jeff Anderson Regional Medical Center's auditorium.
The MAA honored a host of athletes, with the overall athletes award winners for the past season being Mike Thrailkill and Amy Davis.
Thrailkill participated in every point event during the past year and finished with 177 points.
Davis, who competed in such notable events as the Ironman Canada, was the top female athlete, garnering 149 points.
Masters Male and Female winners were Maurice Malone and Boston Marathon participant and triathlete Wanda Kennedy. Grand Masters winners were Bob Glenn and Georgia Carol Walker. The Senior Masters winner was Jerry Parker.
In the junior division, Meridian High's Peter Davidson and Cora Eifert took home the honors. Walker winners were Curtis Fancher and Mattie Williams. The MAA Worker of the Year Award was presented to Carla Wiese.
Although the night was on many levels to recognize those who finish first, the keynote speaker, John Cobb of Bicycle Sports in Shreveport, La. reminded all that another segment of the athletic community deserves praise, too.
Cobb has done extensive research in aerodynamic design with racing bikes. In fact, he designed a bike ridden by Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong.
The MAA's next big event is the annual Funky Monkey Duathlon March 3 at 8 a.m., at Lake Okatibbee.
For more information, please contact Deshon Davis at (601) 693-3374 or e-mail him at deshoniman@aol.com.
Richard Dark is a sports writer for The Meridian Star. E-mail him at rdark@themeridianstar.com.